How Do You Measure The ROI Of Your HBA PRO Membership Dues?

I found the article below by Jeff Hurt that I thought was particularly insightful in regards to return on investment for association membership dues.  Since the PRO has recently changed our name, brand and logo this topic has been on my mind. 

Read the article below then leave a comment to share your views.

Article by Juff Hurt, Midcourse Corrections

How do you measure the ROI of your association membership dues? What is the value of your association membership? What dollar amount would you put on the value of your membership?

What tangible benefits do you receive by joining an association? How do you choose which association you’re going to join each year? Is it based on the number of “leads” you receive for possible new business? Is it the networking opportunities? Do you place a high value on the mission of the organization and want to align with it? Or do you join because you care about the industry and want to further its goals?

Perhaps you join because you want to learn new information, meet like-minded individuals and engage in community? Or maybe you join because you’re new to the industry and want to learn more? Or do you join so you can put it on your resume? Or because you’ve always been a member?

Associations by their very nature exist primarily for their membership. An association’s members are considered its owners, customers and stakeholders. Most have a governing structure that is “member-driven, board directed and staff managed.” (Or at least they are supposed to!) In most associations—whether charity, education, professional or trade–members have a voice and a vote. Members have a say in the structure and priorities of the association, the right to elect board members and officers, and the ability to approve bylaw amendments. The formal association structure goes far beyond the discounts, newsletter and information.

I have worked for associations for nearly 20 years and have learned the standard association elevator speech: “We exist to provide education, government relations, networking and research for our members.” Some people would add community to that list of services.

People usually join associations for one of two primary reasons: because they believe in the mission of the organization or they receive benefits that are worth the member fee.

So…What is the value of being a HBA member? Why join the PRO in addition to the HBA? How do you measure the ROI of your membership dues? What benefits do you expect from your membership fees? Why did you join the Organization?

3 responses to “How Do You Measure The ROI Of Your HBA PRO Membership Dues?

  1. The connections I have made at the HBA has been so valuable to me it is hard to list all of ways. I am so proud to be an HBA member and colleague to the many builders, remodelers and trade contractors. They have helped me in my business and been a great source of growth in my small business. We all love leads, but what if you also received priceless connections and opportunities for personal growth?

  2. I have been a memeber since 1983, and have met so many valuable associates and friends, and learned so much about the building industry, what makes it tick, and how the politics of one area, affect all others, that it makes the value of memebership, priceless.
    The dedication of the staff and volunteers is un-matched, and the success of the efforts on all fronts shows in the success of each program.
    I cannot express the amount of benefit I have recieved both personally and as a business from my membership in HBA/PRO.

  3. When I first joined it was to meet builders and grow my business. What I didn’t expect was to meet some amazing people who are now some of my best friends. I have learned so much about the industry and continue to meet so many great people that I can’t imagine what life would be like without my HBA PRO family. The experience has been invaluable to my personal growth in my career and I look forward to many more years in the HBA.

Leave a Reply

